GEHR Watershed Minute #30

Creation of Atlantic County: (214 words)

Atlantic County is currently one of the 20 counties in New Jersey. While early settlements such as Somers Point, Bargaintown, Steelmanville, English Creek, Mays Landing, Hammonton, Leeds Point, Pleasantville, and Egg Harbor City had their own unique identities, area population growth and development created a need to join together for stronger regional representation, planning, and management.

In February of 1837, Atlantic County, formerly known as Egg Harbor Township, was carved from Gloucester County with boundaries that have remained substantially the same to this date. The county is bounded on the north by the Mullica River; on the south by the Great Egg Harbor Bay and the Tuckahoe River; on the west by Camden and Gloucester Counties; and on the east by the Atlantic Ocean.

According to the U.S. Census Bureau, Atlantic County has a total area of 671 square miles, with 561 square miles of land and 110 square miles of water. The topography of Atlantic County is lowlying and flat, with its highest point in Buena Borough at 124 feet above sea level.

Today, Atlantic County is incorporated into 23 municipalities, with an estimated population of 271,620 residents as of 2006. Atlantic County is by far the largest of the 5 counties in the 627 square miles of the Great Egg Harbor Watershed.